3,3,3,3   4,3,2,1   timp, 3 perc., harp, piano, strings (ca 24')

Ben was commissioned by the Philadelphia Orchestra to celebrate the 300th anniversary of Benjamin Franklin.  The commission was awarded after Daniel Kellogg won a  national composition competition run by the American Composers Forum.  It was premiered November 18, 19, 22 & 30, 2005 with Maestro Christoph Eschenbach and the Philadelphia Orchestra.


Jasper and Carnelian

3,3,3,3   4,3,2,1  timp, 3 perc, harp, piano strings (ca 13')

Jasper and Carnelian was premiered by the Santa Barbara Symphony on May 1&2, 2004 with Maestro Gisele Ben-Dor.  It was the winner of the 2003 ASCAP Rudolf Nissim Award.


Mozart's Hymn

string orchestra in 16-parts (ca 8:30')

Mozart's Hymn was commissioned by L'Ensemble Orchestral de Paris and was premiered on January 10, 2006 at Théâtre des Champs-Élysées (where the Rite of Spring premiered) with Maestro John Nelson.  The piece was commissioned to celebrate Mozart's 250th anniversary and is inspired by Mozart's choral piece Ave Verum Corpus.

The Fiery Furnace

3,3,3,3   4,3,2,1  timp, 3 perc., harp, piano, strings, chorus, solo tenor, solo bass (ca 35')

The Fiery Furnace tells the story of Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego from the book of Daniel.  This Oratorio was commissioned by Soli Deo Gloria, Inc. and was premiered by the San Diego Symphony and the San Diego Master Chorale on April 24, 25, & 26, 2008 with Maestro Jahja Ling.

The entire oratorio can be heard and purchased here.